About CertTESOL

what do you need?

About CertTESOL

The Trinity Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (CertTESOL) is a TESOL or TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate designed for people with little or no experience of teaching English, and for those with experience who require an internationally recognised initial teacher education qualification. 

Preparing for the Trinity CertTESOL English language teaching certificate equips trainees with the basic skills and knowledge needed to take up their first post as an ESOL teacher. It gives an introduction to the theory and practice of English teaching and an insight into the challenges facing the learner and the role of the teacher. 

The CertTESOL is rated at Level 5 on Ofqual’s Regulated Qualifications Framework, a comparable level to the second year of an undergraduate degree, and comprises a minimum of 130 hours, with an expected minimum of 70 hours further study required (Total Qualification Time: 200 hours). 

Unit 1

Teaching skills

Unit 2

Language awareness and skills

Unit 3

The learner profile

Unit 4

The materials assignment

Unit 5

.The unknown language
  • Trainees complete a course of study with a Trinity validated course provider. 

    TESOL  Recognition: Trinity’s TESOL qualifications for English language teachers are listed on the UK Ofqual qualifications framework and, as such, are recognised in the UK and internationally.

  •  Global institutions like the British Council and many other state and independent sector teaching organisations also accept and run Trinity’s highly respected teaching qualifications. 

  • They also undertake at least six hours of observed teaching practice with real learners and produce reflective written assignments for assessment.